Skip to content

Cooking with Torrie and Kerith: Salmon and Quinoa

I love that we mostly cook lunch meals. But there are days where I want a truly proper meal.

And so I told Torrie I was making salmon.

And she said that’s great. In fact she told me she was going to add quinoa to my meal.

I raised an eyebrow but decided to trust her instincts.

I also had some zucchini in the fridge that needed cooking. Or else I’d have to toss it by the end of the week.

So Salmon, quinoa and zucchini it was.

And it was AWESOME.

What you need:

  • 1 piece of salmon 4 oz.-6 oz.
  • 1 box quinoa (we used Roasted Red Pepper and Basil)
  • 1 zucchini- sliced.
  • Lemon
  • Olive Oil
  • Garlic
  • Old Bay
  • Black Pepper
  • Italian Dressing

 

First- add 2 teaspoons lemon, 1 tablespoon Olive oil, 1 teaspoon black pepper, 1 teaspoon (heaped) minced garlic and 1teaspoon old bay and mix thoroughly in a bowl. Place Salmon in the mixture and thoroughly coat both sides.

Next, place you quinoa and water in a pot on the stove and add ingredients as listed on the box.(I.e. Olive Oil and Seasoning packet)

Let it cook for 20 minutes as directed on the box.

Slice your zucchini lengthwise so that you can grill it.  Do not massacre it like I did.

And generously brush it with two tablespoons of Italian Dressing.

 

Heat up the grill and place your salmon on a sheet of aluminum foil. Place it on medium-high flame heat for 12 minutes. You don’t have to flip it- it will cook through.

 

When it’s all done- place your grilled zucchini, salmon and complete quinoa on a plate and enjoy every single delicious bite!

-Torrie and Kerith

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

